Archive for January 31, 2011

Janathon Day 31

Posted: January 31, 2011 in Janathon

Yippee! I have finished the Janathon!!! You wouldn’t believe it but I have had my best run ever tonight. I met the BRJ runners at the rec this evening and there were about 20 of us. As soon as we started the run I went straight to the front to set a good pace. It was a bit chilly to start with but once I got warmed up I felt great and I kept going and going. I looped back quite a few times to the person at the back and then once at the back I sprinted up to the front and took the lead again. For some reason I just felt really good! I think that it is because I had it in my head that this was the last day of the Janathon so I wanted to make it a good one.

I am so glad that the Janathon is over as I am in need of a rest day but as soon as I got home from the club run I felt like I wanted to run again tomorrow – this might be what they call runner’s high! I will see how my legs feel tomorrow.

Although I didn’t quite make my 100 mile target I am sure that my running has improved this month. Hope to see some of you at some races throughout the year or even at the parkrun. My next challenge is the Brighton marathon in April and this will be my first marathon. My training had better start soon. Good luck to all the other Janathoners with their running and well done to all those that managed to complete it!

Day 31: 6.01 miles in 59:04